Posted on

Blood Test

Today I went to get my blood-test done so that I can extend my visa. Since the clinic is far away from my house and would be somewhat difficult to find by foot, I took a taxi. This taxi was for sure the worst one I have had yet. The guy first stops at a shwarma stand to get food for himself and makes me wait 5 minutes in the car. I considered getting out and finding another cab, which I should have done but didn’t. The meter also continues on time when the car is not moving so I had to pay for his pit-stop. Then he got back in and ate his food while providing me with some great sounds. There was the loud, messy chewing; the slurping of his diet sprite (??maybe that makes up for fried meat sandwich?); and his gnarly spitting. Literally every minute he hawked a loogie out the window, sometimes in a plastic bag. The throat clearing was kind of unbearable. When we finally arrived at the center I gave him 2 Dinar for the 1.80 total and he says, “Oh, thanks!,” as if I gave him a tip. Ha yeah right, give me my change.

To top off my lovely taxi experience, when I got to the office I realized that I had left my passport at home. Doh! I tried to convince them that I have ID and that when I return for the results I can provide my passport. No go. To make up for my bad taxi ride, the driver on the way back was the nicest I have had. He was a really nice driver in general though; he always let people through when most would not. Quite abnormal for drivers in Amman. He did ask me if I had gone to a mosque and whether or not I said the Shahadatan, which is the confirmation before witnesses when you become a Muslim. I said that I have been to a Mosque but did not say the Shahadatan because I am a Christian.

Since the blood test didn’t work out I am going to take my flatmates sneaky advice and go to the Marka Police Station in the north east of town where they supposedly don’t require a blood test.We’ll see…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 responses to “Blood Test

  1. max ⋅

    yo man. sounds awesome. good postings of your travels. i remember crazy taxi drivers in india… found it better to walk, even if it took an hour, or ride the wooden busses. too bad you don’t have a bike, though with those taxis it sounds like it would be a hazard. post some stuff on the powerspecial if you’d like, send me an email so i have your email then i will make it able so you can do new post.
    have fun man
    max

    • maximilian ⋅

      Mister A (right? or is it x?), how goes life in the beauty that is Salt Lake? Thanks for reading, I hope its enjoying. I walk a ton here, I only take taxis if I don’t know where something is or have previously walked the route and it is not possible to do by foot. The bike would be such a bad idea you can’t even imagine. NO ONE BIKES. I saw one person biking. The buses are awesome here, all super decorated with Arab carpets and tassles. Do some hike and bike for me! Keep in touch.
      m?x?

  2. Hope all goes well on your “World Wind” tour (I’ve always loved this phrase)of our planet. Nice to get some travel in and call it an education. Not bad when you can string the opportunities together and make it happen.

    I leave tomorrow for Bucharest, Romania then on to Turkey. We’ll be driving into the countryside and looking to take in the spectacular in each little nook.

    From one traveler to another I send you much love. Be well, be in touch!

    Mick Huerta

    • maximilian ⋅

      The travels are good, I just went through a bout of homesickness but it seems I am over the hump. Comes and goes though, as you know. Sounds like your adventure should be amazing and its just the beginning! I am actually off to Israel tomorrow to enjoy the Mediterranean, should be grand. Much love as well and best wishes on your journey.

      Max

Leave a comment